Important Information about GDPR and Cookies...   |   Login   |     |   Sunday, 23 February 2020  
Go2
Go2 - For cottages, lodges, and self catering, and hotels too! Go2 - Hotel and Cottage Finder App Back
 
Go2


Details

Haddon Classic 2

Darley Moor, MatlockDerbyshire


Managed By:
Hoseasons

Reference: LP2149

Sleeps up to: 4

Weekly Price
£351 - £990

Summary


Sounds good?
<<< Read summary

Features


 • Video/DVD
 • Internet/WIFI
 • Dishwasher
 • Games Room
 • Play Area
 • Indoor Pool







Haddon Classic 2


Reviews




The site was outstandingly beautiful, peaceful and clean, an absolute pleasure to stay there.
Mrs F, Crawley, West Sussex
26 March 2011



Very good value for money.
Mr K, Matlock, Derbyshire
08 March 2011



Fantastic holiday, especially for families with children. Superb facilities all round. Friendly staff and friendly squirrels!! Very relaxing, quiet and peaceful place to stay, will be going again!!
Mrs W, Malton, North Yorkshire
01 March 2011



A very beautiful & peaceful park. Suitable for family, plenty to do in the park. Nice forest walk and easy access to the nearby towns.
Mrs H, Stockport, Cheshire
01 March 2011



Darwin Forest Park is well placed for exploring the Peak District. The park itself has everything you need and the leisure centre was very good. It is an excellent park for all ages and is set in lovely surroundings. There is lots of woodland to explore and plenty of walks available without having to travel too far. Our favourite town nearby was definitely Bakewell and we enjoyed a lovely lunch in a beautiful old pub in Youlgreave (which also has a great butchers shop where we bought a lovely piece of beef for our New Year's Day meal )
Mr M, Tranent, East Lothian
08 January 2011



This park has many facilities for people of all ages and even during busy times there is always something to do. The recent addition of a coffee shop is a brilliant idea as we had somewhere to go out of the rain and treat ourselves to something sweet. The children's indoor play barn is also a life saver for people with young children.
Ms A, Stoke-on-trent, Staffordshire
25 October 2010



Comfortable, clean, spectacular location. If you needed to stay in it was such a pleasant outlook. Ideal for dogs.
Mrs W, Liskeard, Cornwall
04 October 2010



Restaurant provides generous helpings, top quality food and entire menu available for take-away. A god-send for dog owners. Woodland walk and forest trail again an extremely useful and pleasant extra. All staff extremely friendly.
Mr A, Hornchurch, Essex
21 September 2010



Would recommend this holiday to anyone. The park itself was very well kept and the surroundings were beautiful. My 3 year old daughter absolutely loved Little Monkeys play centre which I have to say is the nicest soft play centre I've ever been to. The leisure centre, although small, was modern and clean. The on-site shop is well stocked if a little pricey. It was a real treat to look out of the window in the morning to see all the rabbits, squirrels and birds. We found a couple of nice places to eat; The Grouse & Claret and the Red Lion Pub & Bistro. We would definitely go again.
Miss A, Darwen, Lancashire
08 September 2010



We thought the park was very well maintained and all the facilities clean and beautifuly presented. A very positive and enjoyable experience for all the family.
Mrs E, Durham, County Durham
29 August 2010



This was ideal holiday for families who have teenagers as they have the freedom to swim, play football, ride bikes and use the amusement machines much to our delight as it meant we had moments of peace! The cafe was superb and the pub was very good. The location was ideal base for bike trails, walkings or just simply visiting the local historical places.
Mrs G, MALDON, Essex
22 August 2010



There were no rowdy groups. Very quiet at night. No queues at any of the park facilities. Everyone was pleasant from the staff to other holidaymakers. We have a five year-old son who also enjoyed himself and the location of the site is ideal for touring surrounding local attractions
Mrs C, Chester Le Street, County Durham
16 August 2010



Excellent facilities, and very clean accommodation. The brochure described the park accurately and the staff were helpful and friendly. The cabin is well furnished and very good value.
Mr W, SUDBURY, Suffolk
11 August 2010



Excellent facilities and very clean accommodation. The brochure described the park accurately and the staff were helpful and friendly. The cabin is well furnished and very good value.
Mr W, SUDBURY, Suffolk
11 August 2010



Fantastic site. Site has very good, facilities in a nice peaceful setting and the lodge was very clean and spacious. Little extra touches in the lodge like providing washing up liquid etc. made such a difference. Would definitely come back here.
Mrs W, BATHGATE
02 August 2010



It was like a scene from Snow White - a little log cabin set in the woods with baby rabbits, squirrels and birds all about. The only difference was that the cabin was really well-equipped with microwave, freeview, cd & dvd players. They'd thought of everything, even the toaster was set to golden brown! Our family had a brilliant time and our children, although 5 years difference in age, both found activities to suit.
Mr P, Billericay, Essex
01 August 2010



Lovely location with wildlife and birds to see at all times. Great swimming facilities! Perfect getaway location!!
MRS L, WIRRAL, Merseyside
27 July 2010



Great accommodation for families of all ages/generations. The facilities at Darwin Forest were excellent and well positioned to create a 'centre' to the park, the outdoor play area adjacent to the pub outdoor seating was a great idea. The soft play area was well thought out, clean and the food was great value. In the surrounding area Chatsworth Farm and Old Sudbury Hall were both excellent family days out.
Mr C, North Shields, Tyne And Wear
05 July 2010



Really good facilities for keeping children entertained even in the rain! Very peaceful.
Dr R, Morpeth, Northumberland
23 June 2010



The park and the lodge style accommodation was very good. We had a very enjoyable stay and would return to this park in the future. I would also definitely recommend this park to family and friends.
Miss C, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
12 June 2010



This was our fourth visit to Darwin Forrest Country Park - each year we take my parents who are both in their 70's. We absolutely love it there, so does our dog Jess, who scampers round the woods and has great fun. The lodges are clean and well furnished and there is always a warm welcome at the Foresters Inn on the site. We would definitely recommend this type of holiday, as it is suitable for both young and old people.
Mrs B, Coventry, West Midlands
29 May 2010



Darwin Forest was excellent - a really good balance of peace and quiet but also plenty to do on site.
Mr W, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
02 May 2010



fabulous experience from start to finish....Darwin Forest Country Park = DELIGHTFUL FRIENDLY COURTEOUS PEOPLE.....WE DID CENTRE PARCS LONGLEAT RECENTLY AT CHRISTMAS 10 NIGHTS £3,224!!!!.....This holiday at Darwin Forest Country Park was better value for money....... better atmosphere, cleaner spacious lodge, nicer environment and friendlier staff......would love to return .....soon.
Mrs H, Harwich, Essex
11 April 2010



Darwin Forest had everything we needed for a quiet, family getaway. The pool and the Monkey Play Centre kept our 4 year old very well exercised & entertained! The surrounding forest & open areas were excellent for our dog. The lack of mobile reception was even welcomed as it meant that I couldn't receive emails from work on my Blackberry! :)
Mrs S, DUNDEE, Dundee
30 March 2010



Beautiful site, very quiet but with plenty of amenities for all ages, easy to find and plenty to see and do in the area - will definitely be going back.
Mrs B, WALLSEND, Tyne and Wear
28 March 2010



An ideal loccation for visiting Bakewell, Matlock and the market town of Chesterfield. There are plenty of amenities on site and locally, and the food and facilities at the Forresters Arms (on site pub) was excellent!
Mrs G, CAERNARFON, Gwynedd
11 March 2010



A great location close to Bakewell and Matlock. We had a great time and I am going back in the Spring with my grandchildren.
Mrs E, TAMWORTH, Staffordshire
09 March 2010



Clean, very helpful staff, less than one third the cost of centre parks but even better accommodation and great for families. We have found a little gem and we will be back!
Ms M, NOTTINGHAM, NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
23 February 2010



A peaceful, pretty park, and the lodge was warm and cosy and contained everything you needed for a lovely holiday. The little things included like a dishwasher, hairdryer, towels, beds made, bin bags, dishwasher tablets good selection of crockey and cutlery (not just 4 of everything), tea towels, a floor cloth and a clothes airer - all very useful and less to pack. There is lots to do nearby, and there is a farm shop up the road (off site) ,that sells everything for a great meal.
Mr P, BOSTON
21 February 2010



Lovely local walks and interesting wildlife for the children to watch whilst having their breakfast!
Mrs V, York, North Yorkshire
27 January 2010



We had great "quality" family time. The place is peaceful, and is ideal if you like the forest and walking. The lodge is nice, modern and clean and it is highly recommended to recharge energies.
Mrs H, STOWMARKET, Suffolk
28 December 2009



I would recommend Darwin Forest to anybody who would like a lovely break. This was our 4th holiday booked with Hoseasons at different places and we have never been disappointed. I think after many years we have finally found our type of holiday!
Mrs T, BIRMINGHAM
15 December 2009



Good facilities and location and lovely lodges.
Mrs M, Brough, North Humberside
24 November 2009



I would recommend it because its great for kids, and great for great for family days out.
Mr M, HOUGHTON LE SPRING, Tyne and Wear
21 November 2009



The lodge facilities were excellent, and it was very clean and warm. The park itself catered for all ages, and the children loved the pool. The location was beautiful, with woodland walks and trails, and it was a stones throw from Chatsworth, Matlock and Bakewell.
Mrs R, Oldham, Lancashire
20 November 2009



Darwin Forest Country Park is a value for money holiday with plenty to do on site, and it is situated in a superb location. There is something for all the family to do and plenty of placed to go and visit locally that appeal to all ages.
Mr C, Benfleet, Essex
18 November 2009



The lodge had everything we could of needed for a holiday. It was clean and tidy and lovely situated - we would definitely go back!
Mrs B, WIGSTON, Leicestershire
18 November 2009



A lovely area and the park and facilities are wonderful. I would recommend this park to anyone, and we intend going back again next year.
Mrs M, Tadley, Hampshire
13 October 2009



I am now going to recommend this type of holiday to all my friends. We all loved it - my husband, my boys aged 14 and 12 and even the dog. I even got the chance to sit down and put my feet up and read the paper - in between swimming, crazy golf and several games of tennis. What a great couple of days. Cannot wait to return.
Mrs A, TUNBRIDGE WELLS
08 October 2009



We had a wonderful holiday and will definitely be returning as soon as possible.
Mrs F, MIDDLESBROUGH, Cleveland
16 September 2009



A lovely holiday location. The site was quiet despite all the chalets being full which meant we could have a relaxing, peaceful holiday in lovely surroundings with good on site amenities, especially the pool.
Mrs V, Manchester
10 September 2009



Location is lovely, the staff very helpful and cabins comfortable. Will visit again.
Mrs T, NEWMARKET, Suffolk
08 September 2009



Site located in excellent area if you want to travel around in Derbyshire, within easy access of many tourist attractions. Site is peaceful, well maintained and lodges are great - perfect for a family UK holiday.
Mrs D, WHITLEY BAY, Tyne and Wear
07 September 2009



Really great location for exploring and walking the Peaks. We had a great relaxed time and the park was fantastic. The lodges were spotless and would love to own one. Will visit again.
Mr W, SUNDERLAND
18 August 2009



I wpuld recommend Darwin Forest Country Park due to the little (but important) touches, i.e nice towels, toilet rolls, washing up liquid, tea-towels etc. Also the ease to hire a BBQ and the general helpfulness and friendliness of all staff concerned.
Mrs H, LEIGH-ON-SEA
15 August 2009



I was amazed by the attention to detail. We have been to many holiday parks and this was tops for the finishing details - many thanks and we will come again.
Mrs D, WIMBORNE, Dorset
12 August 2009



Excellent value for money. The location was superb with lots of things to do within a small radius of the park. My daughter just loves to swim and she spents hours in the pool - I now have wrinkles to prove it!
Mr S, NORWICH, Norfolk
01 August 2009



A lovely, well kept park with excellent accommodation and customer service from park staff. A relaxing and quiet holiday park but with plenty to do in the surrounding area.
Mr M, CUMNOCK
01 August 2009



A great location, superb leisure facilities and loads to do in the area - fun for everyone!
Mrs C, MILLOM
26 July 2009



The location of the lodges was superb - no lodge was too close to another and the wildlife provided a lovely educational and enjoyable experience.
Mrs P, WIRRAL, Merseyside
23 July 2009



The accommodation at Darwin Forest Country Park was spotless when we arrived and the quality of the lodge was excellent. We had a great family holiday!
Mrs L, WORCESTER PARK, Surrey
10 July 2009



We stayed here last year and we LOVED it!
Mrs H, Kent
29 June 2009



A lovely relaxing break - ideal for young families.
Mrs G, LINCOLN
29 June 2009



We found Darwin Forest to be an ideal location for our holiday. Our cabin was clean and tidy, and the walks in the wooded areas were excellent for dogs. The swimming pool was clean and bright and staff throughout the complex were pleasant and helpful to us.
Mrs R, ROCHDALE, Lancashire
28 June 2009



You need to visit to experience the relaxed atmosphere!
Mr S, NORWICH
26 June 2009



An excellent location, brilliant spa facilities and welcoming staff.
Mrs M, ROTHERHAM
26 June 2009



It was a peaceful and relaxing holiday in a great location.
Mr B, LINCOLN
26 June 2009



An excellent location near to Matlock, Bakewell and Chatsworth. A quiet park and the pool is wonderful. I didn't take my dog but plenty of people had and it was certainly a good location for dog walking.
Mrs W, YORK
17 June 2009



We always enjoy our holidays at Darwin Forest because it is a well kept park, and it gives us the opportunity to see the naturalness of the wildlife, plus the chance to have a short stroll after the evening meal and a drop into the Forresters pub. I have visited Darwin Forest park 3 times over the years, and this time I could see a lot of work has been done to the upgrading of the park, making it very much more enjoyable. I recommend it everytime for a relaxing and stress free holiday - my grandchildren enjoy it also.
Mrs B, DURHAM
14 June 2009



Of the log cabins/lodges that we have stayed in over ther past 4/5 years, without doubt this was the best, and worth the extra drive. In addition we found the scenery stunning!
Mr. J, Rowlands Castle, Hants
07 June 2009



The accommodation was immaculate and it felt like we were the first people to stay in the lodge. Even though it was winter the lodge was always warm.
Mr S, Deal, Kent
20 February 2009



A peaceful park, so we felt very chilled out after our weekend - lovely!
Mrs F, Sheffield, South Yorkshire
02 February 2009



A lovely place and very clean!
Miss S, Waltham Abbey, Essex
02 February 2009



I have been to the park now 6-7 times and I love it - the last time was as good as the first! I have two young boys now and they have both been 3 times and they love it as much as I do, and always ask when we will be going again. Keep up all the great work - thanks!
Miss S, Leicester, Leicestershire
27 December 2008



Had a fantastic 3 day break in a lovely pine lodge, very comfortable & well equipped lodge & park was very clean & well run. Will hopefully return to the park again next year.
Mrs M, Sheffield
22 September 2008



A beautiful place to stay if you want a quiet and relaxing holiday. Lovely lodges in a very picturesque surrounding. An ideal base for exploring the peak district.
Ms B, London
05 September 2008



The park was perfectly located for great days out but was secluded in a great woodland setting. We had a great time and would love to return.
Mrs M, Norwich, Norfolk
22 August 2008



"Very tranquil and quiet surroundings, beautiful woodlands and wildlife. Very enjoyable and good value for money".
Mr P, Norwich, Norfolk
15 August 2008



A clean and quiet park suitable for everyone. Great location and the lodges where very comfatable.
Miss L, Canterbury, Kent
08 August 2008



Yes
Mrs S, York
01 August 2008



This site was tranquil and relaxing. The exact location for anyone seeking a get away from it all break. There is as little or as much as you want to do right on the doorstep. On site it's a total no pressure hide away with friendly staff and great food...... highly recommended.
Ms B, Blackpool, Lancashire
28 July 2008



It is a beautiful park and area.
Mrs D, Littlehampton, West Sussex
18 July 2008



This is a nice quiet site but with really good facilities and is in a great setting. The lodges are excellent and are well furnished with everything you need, we would definitely go again.
Mr C, Letchworth, Hertfordshire
20 June 2008



We loved this holiday. The accommodation was so clean and wonderful for our small grandchild. The decking with the safety gate gave him freedom to play.
Mrs H, Cuxton
14 June 2008



What a holiday, peace & quiet, set in a lovely wooded area, no mobile receptoin (bliss) have recommended this site and area to many friends and relatives, wish there were more like this closer to home.
Mr C, Brighton
14 June 2008



With all the wildlife and peacefulness around you, you cannot help but unwind and enjoy yourself.
Mr S, Norwich, Norfolk
13 June 2008



This holiday was ideal for us as we have a young family and it is set in a quiet location with lots of room for young children to run about. The park is located close to Matlock where there is a nice park with a boating pond and lots of open space. The on site pub caters for children and it has a friendly atmosphere towards families, a highly recommended park.
Miss A, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
06 June 2008



Great location in beautiful countryside.
Mr M, Stockton-On-Tees
31 May 2008



If you want a relaxing break away from the hustle of everyday life then this is the place to be!!! The accomodation is as beautiful as it's surroundings and Matlock is a wonderful and 'quirky' place to visit.
Mrs G, Leicester
23 May 2008



Darwin forest is a lovely setting and picturesque. The park is well maintained and not overcrowded by accommodation. There are facilities for younger children and toddlers which was important. to us.
Mrs W, Stevenage
17 May 2008



The park is really relaxed and spacious with plenty of healthy activities for kids and adults. Our kids were completely bowled over with all the wildlife around the site - not bad having a woodpecker come and land on your verandah. The park fits in beautifully with the landscape and you feel like you are part of the Peak District.
Mr S, Horsham, Sussex
05 May 2008



There is an excellent disabled lodge and the site is very accessible for a wheelchair in all areas.
Miss L, Birmingham, West Midlands
02 May 2008



It was such a lovely place, peaceful but still with plenty to do and see. The Foresters Restaurant was brilliant we ate in there every night and was impressed every time. The ladies on reception were more than helpful and really cheerful even at the end of the day - thanks and well done to them!
Mrs B, Lincoln, Lincolnshire
18 April 2008



A convenient location, good facilities and clean and comfortable accommodation.
Mrs M, London
11 April 2008



A superb relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting with great facilities on site and lots of attractions nearby.
Mrs C, Woking, Surrey
28 March 2008



A well kept park with leisure facilities that are second to none.
Mr F, St. Helens
21 March 2008



The general facilities for young children are very good, and hence have already recommended it to other friends with young children.
Mr E, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
17 March 2008



A great location for getting out into the hills and a nice quiet park to relax in, but with plenty to do for children. Our little boy loved the soft play area and collected about 100 pine cones!
Mr J, Smethwick, West Midlands
17 March 2008



We had a wonderful time at Darwin Forest Country Park - first impressions driving into the park and at reception were then confirmed by the quality of the lodges and the facilities!
Mrs D, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
17 March 2008



The park was peaceful and picturesque - we will definitely come again!
Mrs H, Northampton, Northamptonshire
07 March 2008



We absolutely loved our holiday. The lodges are superb and everything was spotlessly clean - we cannot wait to return!
Mrs D, Bristol, Avon
22 February 2008



Darwin Forest Country Park is a great location for a holiday. The holiday was really good and I would recommend the place to anyone.
Mrs D, Buckingham, Buckinghamshire
29 June 2007



The park had everything needed for a most enjoyable holiday. The lodges were very comfortable, and the layout of the park meant they were quite private. Also the park is well located for touring the local area!
Mrs M, Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
29 June 2007



Great location for visiting the surrounding area. The leisure complex was very clean at whatever time of day and the lodge was very nice. Lovely on site pub with nice meals - we would use this park again in the future.
Mrs W, Stockton-On-Tees, Durham
16 June 2007



Hoeseasons exceeded our expectations!
Mr S, Caterham, Surrey
15 June 2007



Darwin Forest Country Park is excellent value for money and it is a really child friendly park. As well as the soft play area for under fives, my two year old son really enjoyed the swimming pool and the freedom to wander around the park safely. I loved the holiday and would definitely visit for a third time!
Miss A, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
25 May 2007



The best self catering accommodation we have stayed in, very well equipped and clean.
Mrs A
04 August 2006



Near to the site seeing places. Good for people that like nature or birdwatching as set in a forest.
Miss G
17 June 2006



(Reviews on Go2 are based on genuine reports from visitors to the properties listed and represent their personal opinion only. Reviews are not available for all properties.)


Stayed here before? Then tell us your thoughts...

Leave a review on Go2 and you could win a £10 NEXT Gift Voucher! The best review or user guide left on Go2
each month wins... and there's no limit to the number you can write (as long as
you've stayed at the property of course!), so the more you write, the more you can win.

(N.B. Reviews posted on Go2 are subject to approval before publication. An email
address is required for administrative purposes, but will not be published on the website.)



Rating:
Comments:
Your name:
Your email:
Home town:








    <<< Return to summary of Haddon Classic 2)


Return to Search Results



Go2


Go2


About
Terms
Privacy & Cookies
Contact

Go2 provides search, comparison and reviews of holiday cottages, self-catering holiday lets and hotels from multiple providers and private owners, in addition to travel guides and information. Search and compare over 38,000 self catering properties in the UK and Ireland alone, from Hoseasons to Sykes Cottages, from Cottages4you to HomeAway, from Imagine Ireland to Norfolk Country Cottages... and many more.

Follow Go2 on Twitter    Follow Go2 on Facebook    Follow Go2 on Blogger    Follow Go2 on YouTube          View mobile site  (Download mobile apps)

Copyright © 2010-18 Go2 Holidays

Go2... The easy way to find a holiday :-)