Important Information about Cookies...   |   Login   |     |   Tuesday, 02 March 2021  
Go2
Go2 - For cottages, lodges, and self catering, and hotels too! Go2 - Hotel and Cottage Finder App Back
 
Go2


Details

Bowman

Sherwood Forest, RuffordNottinghamshire


Managed By:
Hoseasons

Reference: LP1122

Sleeps up to: 6

Weekly Price
£289 - £905

Summary


Sounds good?
<<< Read summary

Features


 • Bath
 • Play Area







Bowman


Reviews




Sherwood Castle is a delightful natural woodland site, peaceful and unspoilt but with excellent facilities and plenty for the children to do. It made a perfect location for a family reunion and would thoroughly recommend it.
Mrs F, Bishops Castle, Shropshire
01 April 2011



Our lodge was clean and well presented. The park is small which is ideal for young families as there is a sense of security to allow them to roam here, more than you might otherwise. The playgrounds indoors and outdoors were excellent. You are on the doorstep of many attractions and Rufford Park is within walking distance. Would certainly recommend for couples and young families.
Dr S, Cardiff, South Glamorgan
24 March 2011



Fantastic holiday, great location, lovely to see the children playing in the forest building dens rather then watching TV playing amusements etc. Pool a bit small but suited young children we booked it for an hour for just our party and was ideal. Will definitely visit again.
Mrs H, Braintree, Essex
23 March 2011



It was an ideal location for exploring the area, the site was very dog friendly and our chalet was ideal for a family with older children.
Mrs R, Beccles, Suffolk
22 March 2011



Fantastic Park. Really good facilities for kids of all ages.
Mrs. G, DERBY
08 March 2011



Spacious cabin with plenty of space for all our holiday gear. Beautiful surroundings.
Mrs O, Wells, Somerset
08 March 2011



Good value for money.
Mrs Z, Cheadle, Cheshire
24 February 2011



Lovely big lodge, very clean with everything you need in there. Nice location and atmosphere.
Mr H, Cannock, Staffordshire
18 February 2011



A fantastic holiday, the park was lovely, the accommodation was very comfortable and I would recommend it and would love to go back. Rufford Country Park is just a 5 minute walk away where you can enjoy sites of the abbey, or a leisurely stroll around the beautiful lake. A very good location for either a relaxing break or and adventure break, and there is so much to see and do. Thank you to everyone at the park who were very welcoming.
Miss S, Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
16 February 2011



Staff were lovely and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and the accommodation is very, very clean.
Mr C, Kilmarnock, Ayrshire
05 November 2010



Splendid position in the forest area - children enjoyed the facilities and freedom to roam.
Mr S, Swanley, Kent
01 November 2010



Our party of 71 people (19 disabled children) were more than welcomed by everyone and the children (party of 40 children) enjoyed the freedom of the site, playing, running, shouting, and thoroughly enjoying the experience of socialising in an outdoor environment. We will definitely be repeating the experience next year. Thanks to everyone at Sherwood Castle and Hoseasons.
Mr J, Cottingham, North Humberside
20 October 2010



Excellent for young kids - stimulates old fashioned imaginary play. An eco-weekend of R&R.
Ms F, Leeds, West Yorkshire
16 October 2010



We had such a lovely time, this was the 2nd time we have been and have invited the rest of the family along this time. It's peaceful, has lovely walks around the park and has plenty for the family to do.
Mrs J, Spilsby, Lincolnshire
13 September 2010



Would definitely recommend to friends with children, park was peaceful and felt children could run around safely.
Mrs S, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
12 September 2010



We took our 7 grandchildren (age 2 to 9) to Sherwood Castle and did not leave the site during our stay due to the amount of activities for them to do. Also due to the location of our cabins we could happily let them go of into the forest to play without needing to be there all the time as it was all round our cabins. Staff were excellent. Pool great - hired it twice for sole use during our stay as there we 12 of us in our party.
Mrs H, Gravesend, Kent
04 September 2010



Lovely location, very spacious accommodation excellent value for money.
Mrs C, Stoke-on-trent, Staffordshire
05 August 2010



A great site for all members of the family in a superb location.
Mr M, LOCHGILPHEAD
25 July 2010



We as a family of 5 used this site as a home to come back to after day trips instead of travel lodges or caravans which I dislike. Used most of the on site amenities during our stay and found the hospitality was first class. We would recommend this site if you would like a peaceful retreat.
Mrs S, FALKIRK, Stirlingshire
22 July 2010



Location was lovely and ideal for ease of travel to surrounding areas.
Mrs H, Irvine, Ayrshire
20 July 2010



Very enjoyable weekend with lots of activities both on site and within a 10 minute drive. Excellent value for money and have already booked to go again!
Mrs B, Southam, Warwickshire
06 July 2010



Fantastic place for families as there is so much space for them to play and explore while knowing they are safe. There are many places for the children to find in the woods, such as shelters, climbing frames and even animals for petting. The indoor play and sports areas are for both small children and big children including the adults, Excellent all round! Disappointed that there isn't a takeaway or restaurant on site? Don't worry all the local take aways deliver and there are good places to eat only a few miles away. This park is small enough to be personal unlike another well known park close by...and if you do go there, leave the car on the park and visit the country park opposite where you can spend more than a day and even have wonderful afternoon tea or a full blown meal in a beautiful restaurant.
Mrs M, OTLEY, West Yorkshire
01 July 2010



A great site, a great location and a wonderful change from hotels and caravans.
Mr C, STOCKPORT, Cheshire
14 June 2010



Lovely quiet site, excellent staff and things to do all day.
Mrs B, Coventry, West Midlands
30 May 2010



Our three children (6, 6 and 3) loved the indoor zip wire and had a great time in the pool. It was also a fantastic base to visit the surrounding parks and forests.
Mrs E, HULL, East Riding of Yorkshire
19 May 2010



A beautiful location for the kids & the dog. We were immediately chilled out by the serenity of the woodland, the bike rides, walks and just sitting outside our log cabin watching the squirrels play on the roof.
Mrs F, Gainsborough, Lincolnshire
18 May 2010



Had a fantastic time, will be back as great accommodation in a fab location. So much to do in the area a long weekend was just not enough.
Mrs S, Derby, Derbyshire
29 March 2010



Perfect relaxing break with nature at your doorstep.
Miss R, CHESTERFIELD, Derbyshire
21 March 2010



Lovely, peaceful location with plenty of activities available inside & out.
M, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
16 March 2010



I would definitely recommend this park. It is a perfect size to be able to use all of the facilities without queuing, and to experience the atmosphere of Sherwood forest without feeling the pressures of larger holiday parks.
Mrs P, YARM, Cleveland
11 March 2010



Excellent for children of all ages, as it is a a safe and relaxing environment with just enough technology provided to keep them happy. Clean and comfortable accommodation with the added bonus of a pool that can be hired out for exclusive use in the mornings.
Mrs L, REDDITCH, Worcestershire
02 March 2010



My son, (10) and I, and my friend and her 3 year old really enjoyed a long weekend over half term in February. The park retains a friendly cosiness avoiding the corporate feel of other larger parks of other holiday organisations. The sports hall was accessible and a great lure for kids and parents to play together. It was lovely to open a window and be able to touch the trees and hear owls hoot at night. The swimming pool was well managed and clean and never overcrowded. We would consider returning to this park.
Mrs L, WARWICK
20 February 2010



This is a very family friendly park in lovely surroundings, and the staff are cheerful and very helpful.
Mrs B, Basingstoke, Hampshire
06 January 2010



I have already spread the word to friends about the Bowman accommodation - we loved the whole experience!
Mrs H, BATH
05 December 2009



We really loved our 3 night winter stay at Sherwood Castle. It was comfortable and had good facilities for the price (TV, DVD, pool, archery, play areas etc). The children (3 year old twins) had a great time, and it was extremely relaxing for the adults too - we would be keen to return in warmer weather to fully appreciate the outdoor facilities available. We found it excellent value for money!
Mrs A, PETERBOROUGH, Cambridgeshire
30 November 2009



I would highly recommend this holiday for families. We had a fantastic time exploring the forest, and had the opportunity to completely relax away from the hustle and bustle of life. A chance to recharge our batteries, and we loved being able to take our dog along to enjoy the long lazy walks too!
Mrs S, CLEETHORPES, South Humberside
25 November 2009



Lovely setting, friendly efficient staff, easy to find, lovely area to explore.
Mrs L, KIDDERMINSTER, Worcestershire
13 November 2009



We have just got back from a delightful weekend at Sherwood Castle. We stayed in a Bowman lodge which was spacious and pleasant. I liked the fact that beds were made up ready for us which isn't always the case on holiday. We hired the pool for an hour on both mornings which was lovely and at £20, reasonable. The pool is small but it was such a luxury to not have to share it, and the children were allowed inflatable toys etc which they loved. We thought the range of indoor play equipment was good and the staff were very friendly. We have booked again for next year and I would thoroughly recommend it!
Mrs S, Rochester,
05 October 2009



The location perfect for walking, cycling and relaxing in a peacful setting.
Mrs T, REDHILL
22 September 2009



This site was ideal for walkers and those people with dogs.
Miss B, SOUTHAMPTON, Hampshire
22 September 2009



Very central for lots of places to vist eg. Sherwood Forest, Nottingham and Hardwick Hall.
Mrs C, Edinburgh, Midlothian
14 September 2009



The site seems really safe to wander through. Everyone is very friendly: the people in the neighbouring lodge rescued our drying towels from the veranda rail, putting them in a sheltered position when the rain came on. We really enjoyed the crazy golf and the archery session was very good value, entertaining and instructive.The weather was kind to us but if it was very wet, Sherwood is near plenty of attractions to enjoy. We visited D.H. Lawrence's birthplace, Newark, and Hardwick Hall, all well worth a visit.
Mrs G, LIVERPOOL
09 September 2009



Great holiday site and really helpful friendly staff. Plenty of space for the kids to run around and explore. Take the kids bikes or scooters. Leisure area full of things to do which occupied my 4 kids (9yr, 7yr, 3yr and 1yr) most evenings. Yes, they even have a play area for the 1yr old!
Mrs F, COCKERMOUTH
19 August 2009



We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at Sherwood Castle and we would definitely recommend the park to others. We have 2 children aged 7 and 4 and the park was ideal - with great facilities on site and plenty to do within close proximity.
Mr S, WIGAN, Lancashire
03 August 2009



An absolutely brilliant holiday, friendly and informative staff and we would definitely return.
Mrs A, SUNDERLAND
28 July 2009



We had a lovely time and our two boys aged 5 and 2 had a ball in the woods. We went out on trips, Sherwood Forest Farm Park is brilliant and good value - (voucher in leaflet). Gullivers in Matlock is a good day out and good value (take a picnic). Chatsworth is good great farm and the play area was the best I have seen - the kids spent all day in there, under 3's are free and take spare clothes as there is lots of sand and water. A great area for bikes so take them with you and don't leave without a bow and arrow and hat!
Mrs B, Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
28 July 2009



A lovely peaceful place to have a holiday. Plenty of active things for our two boys but not as frenetic as the big holiday parks.
Mrs S, PAISLEY
06 July 2009



A fantastic location and accommodation.
Mrs S, BECCLES
05 July 2009



This is a very child friendly park with a wonderful location. The children loved being able to jump out of bed, get dressed and run around or bike in the woods at 7am! Definitely a place to relax in whether you have children or not. It was quiet, and the wildlife was fascinating to young and old alike. We will definitely think of using Sherwood Castle again - thank you for a holiday to remember.
Mrs G, GREAT YARMOUTH, Norfolk
04 July 2009



This was by a long way the best holiday we've had in years. A good, clean park and accommodation, quiet surroundings, with lots of hidden paths and play areas. No nightlife on site (a big plus when you have small children). Our two children (aged 18 months and 4 years) adored all the facilities, especially the swimming pool and the well equipped and mostly free sports hall, which kept them amused for hours. During the whole week, we only felt the need to go off site once. The rest of the time was spent just enjoying ourselves in this idyllic little hideaway.
Mrs W, SCUNTHORPE
18 June 2009



A lovely, small park with comfortable accommodation. A great location for exploring Sherwood Forest and the surrounding towns.
Mrs B, FLEET, Hampshire
16 June 2009



Highly recommended, excellent facities and a quiet, friendly atmosphere.
Mrs. W, HAYLING ISLAND
14 June 2009



Everything about this holiday is great - chill out and relax!
Mr M, Wakefield, West Yorkshire
06 June 2009



I would recommend this holiday because apart from the very good facilities, the area gives kids the opportunity to use their imaginations in exploring the area, building 'dens' and such like in safety.
Mr R, Boston, Cambridgeshire
20 March 2009



Nestled in the woods the log cabins are clean and spacious with plenty of room for our three children. There are lots of activities for the kids, great cycle trails and we all LOVED the archery!
Mrs C, Leek, Staffordshire
15 March 2009



Highly recommended to all. Our family 4 adults, 2 children ages 12 and 9 and a dog had a fantastic time here. Never really left the park as children were so happy in the environment there was no need to explore further. All staff from reception to the gentlemen teaching the archery couldn't have been nicer. Were always happy to help and dealt with requests promptly! Thank you for a great holiday we hope to return again soon.
Mrs. B, Melksham, Wiltshire
17 February 2009



Great for families and you can take your dog along too! The children could explore their surroundings safely and enjoyed all the activities on offer, so much so we never got to leave the park during our stay as they were so happy!
Mrs B
17 February 2009



Great for the kids as there is so much to explore around the park.
Mr P, Birmingham, West Midlands
03 February 2009



I really enjoyed my hoseasons holiday and the whole family had a great time away. Value for money was fantastic and the site and staff were amazing.
Ms W, Chesham, Buckinghamshire
10 November 2008



The Sherwood Castle Holiday Park was exactly what we were looking for - someone that the kids could have lots to do, regardless of weather, and not have to get in the car much. The natural surroundings, spacing amongst cabins and non-commercialization was great. Thank you!
Mrs P, Alberta, Canada
18 October 2008



Situation ideal for a quiet family break, plenty to do around the area.
Mrs S, Dundee
18 October 2008



Very relaxing quiet park in a lovely woodland setting which was great for walking our dog. This was our third visit and we look forward to returning.
Mrs H, Stowmarket
20 September 2008



Sherwood Castle Holiday Forest was wonderful in every way. It is suitable for couples and familieis with children of all ages and it's location is fantastic for making the most of the surrounding area. We had avery enjoyable holiday and would recommend it to anyone!
Mrs H, Walsall
15 September 2008



We normally go to the seaside for holidays. Glad we didn't this year. This was the best holiday ever. We has so much fun and spent so little. The kids loved it. Not just the little ones. The older ones too. We will definitely go again. Thanks from the Fox family.
Mr F, Peterborough
08 September 2008



We loved this site and were very impressed with north Nottinghamshire overall - so much to do in a very small area. The site is well cared for and the staff are friendly, helpful and genuine. However - this site's greatest appeal is the LACK of a clubhouse and night time entertainment. Having stocked up at the local Tesco it was so much nicer just having a glass of wine in the peace and quiet of Sherwood forest after a hard days sporting activities. I would definitely recommend it to sporty families who enjoy their own company in the evenings.
Mr B, Leicester, Leicestershire
25 July 2008



This park is in a lovely part of Sherwood Forest, where it is possible to enjoy quiet walks and is well placed to enjoy other places and activities in the vicinity.
Mrs K, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
23 June 2008



A park with lots to do, which is great for the kids!
Miss S, Birmingham, West Midlands
23 June 2008



This was the second time that we have stayed at this park, it has the optimum balance of slow paced entertainment and relaxation.
Ms R, Birmingham, West Midlands
09 June 2008



This park is excellent for young children and provides the ideal location with other attractions within easy access.
Mr C, Inverkeithing, Fife
16 May 2008



I would recommend Sherwood Castle as it has great amenities on both the park itself and in the surrounding area to keep children entertained.
Mrs S, Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
13 May 2008



A nice park in a quiet location but with good access to Sherwood Forest and the other attractions in the area.
Mr S, Waterlooville, Hampshire
20 April 2008



We found the park and the surrounding area lovely. There was lots to do onsite for the children and plenty nearby - we would definitely recommend it!
Mr D, Trimdon Station, Cleveland
17 April 2008



A lovely break in wonderful surroundings, our 2 dogs and 20 month old boy were all very happy! There is so much to do and explore in the local area so we are now keen to return. Recommended for families definitely, and those who like to include their dog in their holiday!
Mrs C, Worcester, Worcestershire
06 April 2008



A superb park for families, our children loved exploring the woods. There are lots of places to go to nearby and very good indoor play facilities.
Mr B, Colchester, Essex
04 April 2008



The log cabins and their setting is most appealing and excellent for couples, families and children of all ages. A peaceful setting and good value for money.
Mr F, Pentre, Mid Glamorgan
24 March 2008



For a family with small children this was ideal - it met every need for a short break
Mrs D, Bonnyrigg, Midlothian
17 March 2008



Quiet, but with plenty to do on the park and lots to see locally. The woodland comes right up to your door, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, but keep a low profile.
Mrs J, Crickhowell, Powys
29 February 2008



Sherwood Castle Holiday Forest is a lovely, small, friendly and secluded park - a perfect location for getting away from it all.
Mr R, Enfield, Middlesex
15 February 2008



A quiet location with cosy log cabins for an inexpensive winter break. Recommended to families of all ages who enjoy making their own entertainment and exploring the great outdoors. The indoor facilities make even rainy days fun for all the family!
Mrs B, Rotherham, South Yorkshire
26 November 2007



We have stayed here twice this year because we like it so much. Lovely lodges, helpful staff and beautiful, peaceful surroundings. I would recommend this holiday to everyone!
Mrs H, Clacton-On-Sea, Essex
31 October 2007



A great place for children to explore safely and there is lots to do on site. It was our fourth time here and they still want to come again as they enjoy it so much.
Mrs J, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
26 October 2007



The location of the park is very central as a base to visit some great local attractions. The park is really great for children and we will definitely be back when our little girl is up and running about - there is just loads for her to explore!
Mr P, Cottingham, East Yorkshire
13 October 2007



An excellent location for a chilled out holiday.
Ms S, Selby, North Yorkshire
04 September 2007



A smashing holiday choice, especially for those with children who can really get into the spirit of Robin Hood in a safe and friendly environment.
Mrs T, Bicester, Oxfordshire
04 August 2007



The park was very peaceful in a lovely setting, with lots of open areas for the children to run around and enjoy themselves.
Mrs J
22 April 2007



If you want fun in a great location this is the place to go - it was even better than we were expecting so keep up the good work, 10 out of 10!
Mr W
02 April 2007



The park is in a great location, with plenty of activities close by.
Miss F
26 February 2007



Peace and quiet, a complete relaxing holiday.
Mrs T
21 October 2006



Lovely, peaceful park, ideal for a quiet break and close enough to loads of interesting places within easy travelling distance. Rufford Abbey and Mill are very close and a wonderful place to spend time. Lots of good pubs to eat in at reasonable prices and a Sunday market at Thornsby (approx 15mins away) is huge and really worth a visit. This is our second visit at this park and I really hope to visit again.
Miss T
29 July 2006



(Reviews on Go2 are based on genuine reports from visitors to the properties listed and represent their personal opinion only. Reviews are not available for all properties.)


Stayed here before? Then tell us your thoughts...

Leave a review on Go2 and you could win a £10 NEXT Gift Voucher! The best review or user guide left on Go2
each month wins... and there's no limit to the number you can write (as long as
you've stayed at the property of course!), so the more you write, the more you can win.

(N.B. Reviews posted on Go2 are subject to approval before publication. An email
address is required for administrative purposes, but will not be published on the website.)



Rating:
Comments:
Your name:
Your email:
Home town:








    <<< Return to summary of Bowman)


Return to Search Results



Go2


Go2


About
Terms
Privacy & Cookies
Contact

Go2 provides search, comparison and reviews of holiday cottages, self-catering holiday lets and hotels from multiple providers and private owners, in addition to travel guides and information. Search and compare over 16,000 self catering properties in the UK and Ireland alone, from Hoseasons to Sykes Cottages, from Cottages4you to HomeAway, from Imagine Ireland to Norfolk Country Cottages... and many more.

Follow Go2 on Twitter    Follow Go2 on Facebook    Follow Go2 on Blogger    Follow Go2 on YouTube          View mobile site  (Download mobile apps)

Copyright © 2010-20 Go2 Holidays

Go2... The easy way to find a holiday :-)