Important Information about Cookies...   |   Login   |     |   Thursday, 25 February 2021  
Go2
Go2 - For cottages, lodges, and self catering, and hotels too! Go2 - Hotel and Cottage Finder App Back
 
Go2


Details

Magpie Lodge

Henford Marsh, WarminsterWiltshire


Managed By:
Hoseasons

Reference: LP1865

Sleeps up to: 4

Weekly Price
£255 - £715

Summary


Sounds good?
<<< Read summary

Features


 • Bath







Magpie Lodge


Reviews




Very relaxing, friendly staff, very quiet, beautiful settings ideal for long walks with the dog, very dog friendly.
Mr H, Sidmouth, Devon
16 February 2011



The location is great and staff lovely.
Mrs G, Longfield, Kent
17 November 2010



There is a lot to see in the area of historical and film interest. With Lacock village, Stonehenge, Longleat Safari Park, Alfred the Greats Tower and much more. If you are taking a dog, there are plenty of beautiful walks right on your doorstep.
Mrs B, Cannock, Staffordshire
04 November 2010



It is a very quiet and relaxing place to be. There is good fishing right in front of the accommodation. The views across the lakes are a treat to see especially when the sun is low. The manager and staff are very polite and they provide excellent meals, if you so wish, at reasonable prices.
Mr B, GUILDFORD, Surrey
25 October 2010



Faultless. Very friendly welcoming people. 10/10. I would highly recommend Hunters Moon to people. And may well return ourselves.
Mr C, Coventry, West Midlands
20 October 2010



I would recommend this site, Nick was extremely helpful. I had forgotten an email with my Longleat eTickets, he was very kind and suggested we use the wireless connection in the bar to forward the email to him so he could print it off. Being local, he was also very useful for suggesting various places of interest to visit.
Ms B, Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
13 October 2010



An ideal site for just relaxing, fishing, walking or touring.
Mr T, Warrington, Cheshire
11 October 2010



An excellent location for relaxing and enjoying the scenery. Very good fishing facilities and walking trails, also dog friendly. Close to local shops for everyday amenities and a good base for sightseeing' Longleat, Bath, Salisbury etc. The staff were also very kind and helpful. A very good holiday, I shall definitely be returning. Thank you.
Mr H, London, LONDON
03 October 2010



A lovely quiet location, very peaceful.
Mr W, Bicester, Oxfordshire
13 September 2010



Would recommend as we really enjoyed staying there on our first family holiday with our baby.
Miss E, Lancaster, Lancashire
10 September 2010



Although my 14-year old son is the only fisherman, all three of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hunters Moon. The site is very tranquil and relaxing. Our cabin was right next to one of the lakes so my son was able to fish right outside the front door. The site is extremely close to Longleat Safari Park (it's a 5 minute car journey to the park gates) and pretty close to other local attractions. However, we found Hunters Moon to be so peaceful that we were more than happy to spend a couple of days just relaxing by the lakes. The owners, Nick and Sandy, are really friendly, they made us feel totally welcome and treated us like part of the family. We would thoroughly recommend Hunters Moon and we will definitely be making a return visit!
Miss M, Brandon, Suffolk
05 September 2010



Hunters Moon was a quiet and peaceful holiday you could sit and watch the wildlife around the lodges for hours.
Mr W, Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
17 August 2010



Beautiful setting exactly as described, did not disappoint, highly recommend.
Mr H, Kidderminster, Worcestershire
10 July 2010



Just had an excellent weeks holiday on this site, my husband enjoyed the fishing and I enjoyed exploring the local country walks with my dog. It's a very dog friendly place and the ideal place to meet good company.
Mrs C, LEIGH, Lancashire
05 July 2010



From the initial phone call to the last goodbye Nick and Sandy were fantastic, the most welcoming and friendly hosts. They alone would have made the holiday special, but we also enjoyed the lovely surroundings - so peaceful, and yet so much wildlife to see (ducks, moorhens, geese, heron, even deer) The bar and restaurant were a real surprise, very pleasant and good quality food and drink. The other guests and visiting fishermen were all very friendly too. We'll certainly be back soon.
Mr A, Winchester, Hampshire
01 May 2010



This was one of the most relaxing breaks I have ever had. Nothing was too much trouble for the site owner Nick, who made us feel very welcome. The lakes were well stocked and directly outside our cabin. We are already planning our next visit!!
Mrs R, ANDOVER
21 April 2010



Everything was so wonderful, from the view out of the window and the delightful accommodation, to the convenience to all the attraction's so close by e.g. Longleat and surrounding areas.
Mrs H, NEATH, West Glamorgan
20 April 2010



Very enjoyable location; plenty of birds, ducks and geese. Very quiet and good walks around.
Mrs Y, Birmingham, West Midlands
07 April 2010



The park is ideally positioned, just outside of the town but close enough to visit local shops etc. A half hours drive gets you to Bath with a further half hour into Bristol. Even if you don't want to drive you are just minutes away from some lovely walks. All in all I would recommend it highly.
Mr S, ELLESMERE PORT, Cheshire
09 February 2010



I thoroughly enjoyed this holiday. The location is very central to all the sights, and we had an enjoyable trip to Bath which was merely 25 minutes away. The surroundings were very picturesque (especially as it was snowing), and was more than I anticipated. This is a family run business and all the staff at the location were very friendly and we spent many nights in their bar in great conversation with various members of them. The owners go out of their way to be very hospitable and provide an excellent service. I'm currently planning my return trip! This was well worth the money!
Miss S, GRAVESEND, Kent
09 January 2010



Very good value for money. and good sized lodges with very friendly ducks in the lake! There are lots of places to see nearby such as Stonehenge, Bath and Bristol.
Miss W, LOWESTOFT, Suffolk
28 November 2009



Very helpful and kind owners, a beautiful park and the house was situated perfectly near the water. We had a perfect holiday!
Mr. D, Roermond, Netherlands
25 November 2009



We loved this holiday - it was peaceful, relaxing and a romantic break for the both of us to enjoy. We are 100% going back in the near future!
Miss T, CARSHALTON, Surrey
18 November 2009



We liked this very quiet spot, although we do not fish, it was very nice just to have peace and quiet, and although it was late in the season we found plenty to do in the area.
Mrs B, BROMLEY
11 November 2009



Its a superb tranquil location. Fishing good. Birdlife abundant. Everyone very helpful and friendly.
Mrs. M, Reading, Berkshire
26 September 2009



A beautiful location for a peaceful and restful break. The lakes and stream are literally on your doorstep, making it a wonderful place for those who want to do a spot of fishing. There are some lovely places of interest a short drive away for those who want to explore. Hunters Moon is the place to escape the rat-race and we will be back next year!
Mrs R, West Midlands
10 September 2009



A superb location for touring the area, a lovely setting, and leaving the hustle and bustle of the tourist trap behind. Very good value.
Mrs P, CARNFORTH, Lancashire
23 August 2009



We felt it was in beautiful surroundings and matched the description perfectly. The staff were very friendly, and if you want a peaceful holiday this is the place to be. It was also a great central point for visiting local attractions.
Mr K, LEIGH-ON-SEA
16 August 2009



If you want a relaxing time then go to Hunters Moon Lodges. The staff and locals were very friendly and helpful, it is a good base to visit the surrounding attractions and there is good fishing.
Mrs L, LONDON
19 July 2009



A super location with wonderful staff and nothing was too much trouble for the owner who also had a great sense of humour.
Mrs G, CHELMSFORD
11 July 2009



A beautiful setting in a woodland, the lakes are totally sheltered, peaceful and quiet and the lodge was set 8ft from lake edge with a personal fishing platform.
Mr M, RUSHDEN, Northamptonshire
06 July 2009



If you are looking for a quiet, relaxed break but within easy distance to local ammenities then Hunters Moon Lodges provides a great base. The owners are probably the friendliest and most helpful I have met in many years of travelling and their local knowledge is unsurpassed!
Mr P, Crawley , West Sussex
04 July 2009



We really enjoyed it and the staff were fantastic, always there when I wanted them - brilliant!
Mr R, WREXHAM
30 June 2009



I have many friends and colleagues who would enjoy this style of holiday. I would have no reservation about recommending the park to them where we stayed as an excellent base for touring the Peak District.
Mrs F, WATFORD
23 June 2009



Hunter Moons was a wonderful 'escape from it all' weekend. It is very quiet and away from it all, but for a short car ride you have plenty of choice. The staff are just fantastic and I can't rave about them enough. I have visited Hunters Moon about 6 times now and I will keep coming back. I have recommended to it several friends and have they have always come back and said how much they have enjoyed it - you won't be disappointed!!
Miss W, CROYDON
19 June 2009



An excellent, well managed park, a beautiful locaton with peace, perfect peace. This was our fourth visit and we'll be back!
Mr F, FELIXSTOWE
07 June 2009



Stayed in the Magpie lodge, fantastic break so relaxing no traffic noise such a beautiful location, Sitting by the lake in the Morning and evening with a cup of tea, beautiful walks for the dogs within 2 mins, get up early and see the deers just up the road on the left. Great Location for exploring to with Warminster about 5 mins away with everything you need from supermarket to pet shop, also Bath is easily accesible and a great day out, another good day out is the Bath and Dundas canal company, hire a day boat and travel up the Avon & Kennet canal. Also some good places to eat out, our favourite was the The Angel Inn Upton Scudamore Warminster great food and you can take the dogs. The owners realy nice seems like no task was to big or small and will do anything to help. Thanks again for a wonderful break.
Mr C, PORTSMOUTH,
22 March 2009



A fantastic holiday and a lovely setting - so peaceful and ideal for dog walking and relaxing. The owners are so friendly and we can't honestly complain about anything as we loved the whole experience - thankyou!
Mr C, Portsmouth, Hampshire
21 March 2009



It was very relaxing - just what we needed!
Mr D, Sheerness, Kent
16 February 2009



Peaceful surroundings overlooking a small lake with ducks that come up to you and greet you.
Mr D, Gillingham, Kent
28 October 2008



Lovely peacefull setting. My daughter spent hours feeding the ducks. Bar & restaurant were comfortable & the staff more than helpful. Will definately go back in the future.
Mrs M, Newcastle
16 August 2008



Absolutely fantastic holiday - peaceful and relaxing site with wonderful fishing lake for children - just like Hook a Duck! Friendly and helpful owner/staff. 15 mins walk from town an 10 mins drive from Longleat Safari Park. We will definitely be returning!
Mrs H, Hereford
09 August 2008



A really relaxing location with wonderful food served just a matter of steps away!
Mrs S, Coventry, West Midlands
23 June 2008



Total relaxation is top of the list here, with beautiful surroundings and privacy too!
Miss K, Gravesend, Kent
25 April 2008



This is a peaceful, friendly small and quiet park with good fishing available and nice accommodation. Ideal for our short break and we will definitely be returning!
Mrs H, Croydon, Surrey
21 April 2008



The lodges are set in a lovely, quiet and rural setting. We loved the peace and quiet and the children loved feeding the ducks on the lake. The park is also in a very good location for visiting Longleat and other nearby attractions - we all want to go back!
Mrs B, Pontefract, West Yorkshire
07 April 2008



This quiet little lakeside park is the ideal spot for a break to unwind and hear the birds singing. If you fish, theres trout in the river and carp in the lake - a very relaxing holiday, thank you!
Mrs L, Hayes, Middlesex
08 March 2008



A wonderful location, warming reception and everything you could want need nearby - overall a very nice romantic break!
Mrs A, Southend-on-sea, Essex
06 February 2008



A super friendly place! Highly recommended and will certainly go back again!
Mr W, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
22 September 2007



A very nice place!
Mr B, Luton, Bedfordshire
18 August 2007



My family and I really enjoyed the holiday, and it was just what we where hoping for, a quiet and relaxing break. The helpfulness of the staff at the park was fantastic, even having time to show us how to fish, they went out of their way to help in any way they could. We spent two weeks in the lodge and we will be going back without doubt in the future. As I have a terminal illness and use a wheelchair when getting about we never found this any trouble, and there were lots of places to visit right on the doorstep. One of the best British holidays we have ever had thanks to Hoseasons, who kept us informed about our holiday and was very helpful from the very first time we phoned - we will be back, thanks again!
Mrs B, Ulverston, Cumbria
18 August 2007



The family running this park were second to none, the food and service were great and we were greeted like old friends. We will be there again next year without fail!
Mr W, Birmingham, West Midlands
16 July 2007



Beautiful setting, ideal for lovers of wildlife. A welcoming owner with a very good knowledge of the area and places of interest and a great base for touring - especially Longleat and Bath.
Mr L, Bolton, Manchester
13 July 2007



The peacefulness of the park, the great fishing and the friendly staff made this a complete chillout for us.
Mr S, Hastings, Sussex
07 July 2007



Ideal for people who enjoy fishing - peaceful and relaxing!
Mrs H, Walton On The Naze, Essex
07 July 2007



The ideal place to relax and appreciate nature, and also ideal for the fisherman!
Mr G
14 April 2007



A lovely, quiet spot to stay and meet up with family. Great location to visit Longleat which is only 6 minutes up the road.
Mr L
14 April 2007



Great! A nice relaxing place - we will be going back again soon as we already miss it!
Mr L
05 April 2007



Excellent park, staff and location. Highly recommended - we'll go again!
Mr F
09 September 2006



For perfect peace and quiet and catching fish you have only dreamt about, Woodlakes is the perfect holiday choice for anglers.
Mr H
02 September 2006



If you are looking for an angling destination I think you would find this site difficult to beat - don't tell too many people!!
Mr D
14 July 2006



We enjoyed our stay and have booked again for a short break - thanks to all the staff.
Mr W
10 July 2006



We deliberately chose a 'Peace and Quiet' location and the setting was idyllic.
Mrs P
09 June 2006



(Reviews on Go2 are based on genuine reports from visitors to the properties listed and represent their personal opinion only. Reviews are not available for all properties.)


Stayed here before? Then tell us your thoughts...

Leave a review on Go2 and you could win a £10 NEXT Gift Voucher! The best review or user guide left on Go2
each month wins... and there's no limit to the number you can write (as long as
you've stayed at the property of course!), so the more you write, the more you can win.

(N.B. Reviews posted on Go2 are subject to approval before publication. An email
address is required for administrative purposes, but will not be published on the website.)



Rating:
Comments:
Your name:
Your email:
Home town:








    <<< Return to summary of Magpie Lodge)


Return to Search Results



Go2


Go2


About
Terms
Privacy & Cookies
Contact

Go2 provides search, comparison and reviews of holiday cottages, self-catering holiday lets and hotels from multiple providers and private owners, in addition to travel guides and information. Search and compare over 16,000 self catering properties in the UK and Ireland alone, from Hoseasons to Sykes Cottages, from Cottages4you to HomeAway, from Imagine Ireland to Norfolk Country Cottages... and many more.

Follow Go2 on Twitter    Follow Go2 on Facebook    Follow Go2 on Blogger    Follow Go2 on YouTube          View mobile site  (Download mobile apps)

Copyright © 2010-20 Go2 Holidays

Go2... The easy way to find a holiday :-)